Open Letter from the Harvard Academy for International and Area Studies

April 18, 2018

Dear President Drew Faust,
Dear President-elect Lawrence S. Bacow,
Dear Dean Michael D. Smith,
Dear Dean Claudine Gay,

The Senior Scholars and Academy Scholars of the Harvard Academy are deeply troubled by the serious allegations of sexual harassment against Professor Jorge I. Domínguez, raised in the February 27, 2018 and March 4, 2018 articles in The Chronicle of Higher Education.

As you know, Professor Domínguez was Chair of the Harvard Academy for a number of years. As a community of scholars, we are concerned about the effects the alleged sexual harassment may have had within our own society, across Harvard, and beyond. We have met a number of times to discuss this issue and are writing to express our concerns.

It is the responsibility of the University to thoroughly investigate these particular allegations and take appropriate action. At a broader level, we urge the University to use this opportunity to do a comprehensive review of its policies and procedures regarding sexual harassment. It seems reasonable to conclude from what has been reported that current arrangements are inadequate, and that this case is indicative of a systemic issue within Harvard and academia.


Timothy J. Colton
Interim Chair and Senior Scholar, Harvard Academy for International and Area Studies and Morris and Anna Feldberg Professor of Government and Russian Studies

Harvard Academy Senior Scholars

Sunil Amrith
Mehra Family Professor of South Asian Studies and Professor of History

Melani Cammett
Clarence Dillon Professor of International Affairs

Steven Caton
Khalid Bin Abdullah Bin Abdulrahman Al Saud Professor of Contemporary Arab Studies

Grzegorz Ekiert
Laurence A. Tisch Professor of Government and Director, Minda de Gunzburg Center for European Studies

Nathan Nunn
Frederic E. Abbe Professor of Economics

Elizabeth J. Perry
Henry Rosovsky Professor of Government and Director, Harvard-Yenching Institute

Susan J. Pharr
Edwin O. Reischauer Professor of Japanese Politics and Director, Program on U.S.-Japan Relations

Ajantha Subramanian
Professor of Anthropology

Odd Arne Westad
S.T. Lee Professor of U.S.-Asia Relations

Harvard Academy Scholars

Xenia A. Cherkaev
Department of Anthropology, Columbia University

Arunabh Ghosh
Assistant Professor, Department of History, Harvard University

Natalia Gutkowski
Porter School of Environmental Studies and the Department of Sociology and Anthropology, Tel Aviv University, Israel

Adam E. Leeds
Assistant Professor, Department of Slavic Languages, Columbia University

Mariano Sánchez-Talanquer
Assistant Professor, Department of Politics, Center for Research and Teaching in Economics (CIDE), Mexico City, Mexico

Rachel Sweet
Department of Political Science, Northwestern University

David Szakonyi
Assistant Professor, Department of Political Science, George Washington University; Research Fellow, International Center for the Study of Institutions and Development, Higher School of Economics, Moscow, Russia

Download Open Letter

Link to the Joint Statement

open_letter.pdf30 KB