The leadership of The Harvard Academy includes a Chair and a committee of Senior Scholars appointed by the Dean of the Faculty of Arts and Sciences. The Senior Scholars of The Harvard Academy are senior Harvard faculty representing several social science disciplines (anthropology, economics, history, political science, and sociology) and world regions. They mentor Academy Scholars in residence, participate in Harvard Academy events, and serve on the selection committee for the Academy Scholars Program.

Current Senior Scholars

  • Sunil Amrith, Mehra Family Professor of South Asian Studies, Chair, Department of South Asian Studies, and Director, Joint Center for History and Economics
  • Melani Cammett, Chair, Harvard Academy for International and Area Studies, Clarence Dillon Professor of International Affairs, and Professor in the Department of Global Health and Population
  • Steven Caton, Khalid Bin Abdullah Bin Abdulrahman Al Saud Professor of Contemporary Arab Studies (on leave Fall 2018)
  • Timothy J. Colton, Morris and Anna Feldberg Professor of Government and Russian Studies
  • Grzegorz Ekiert, Laurence A. Tisch Professor of Government and Director, Minda de Gunzburg Center for European Studies (on leave Spring 2019)
  • Nathan Nunn, Frederic E. Abbe Professor of Economics
  • Elizabeth J. Perry, Henry Rosovsky Professor of Government and Director, Harvard-Yenching Institute (on leave 2018-2019)
  • Susan J. Pharr, Edwin O. Reischauer Professor of Japanese Politics and Director, Program on U.S.-Japan Relations (on leave Spring 2019)
  • Ajantha Subramanian, Professor of Anthropology and Chair, Department of Anthropology
  • Odd Arne Westad, S.T. Lee Professor of U.S.-Asia Relations (on leave Spring 2019)

Former Senior Scholars

  • Henry Rosovsky, Chairman, Harvard Academy, 1986–1996 and Lewis P. and Linda L. Geyser University Professor, Emeritus
  • Samuel P. Huntington, Chairman, Harvard Academy, 1996–2004 and Albert J. Weatherhead III University Professor, Emeritus (deceased)
  • Jorge I. Domínguez, Chair, Harvard Academy, 2004–2018
  • Robert H. Bates, Eaton Professor of the Science of Government and Professor of African and African American Studies, Emeritus
  • John H. Coatsworth, Provost and Professor of International and Public Affairs and of History, Columbia University
  • Henrietta Harrison, Stanley Ho Professor of Chinese History and Fellow of Pembroke College, University of Oxford
  • Engseng Ho, Professor of Cultural Anthropology, Duke University
  • Elisabeth Köll, William Payden Associate Professor of History, Notre Dame University
  • Roderick MacFarquhar, Leroy B. Williams Professor of History and Political Science, Emeritus
  • Sally Falk Moore, Victor S. Thomas Professor of Anthropology, Emerita
  • Roy Mottahedeh, Gurney Research Professor of History
  • Edward Roger Owen, A.J. Meyer Professor of Middle East History, Emeritus
  • Dwight H. Perkins, Harold Hitchings Burbank Professor of Political Economy, Emeritus
  • James Robinson, Dr. Richard L. Pearson Professor of Global Conflict Studies and University Professor, University of Chicago
  • Nadav Safran, Murray A. Albertson Professor of Middle Eastern Studies, Emeritus (deceased)
  • Amartya Sen, Thomas W. Lamont University Professor
  • Mary M. Steedly, Professor of Anthropology, Emerita (deceased)
  • Adam Ulam, Gurney Professor of History and Political Science, Emeritus (deceased)
  • Ezra F. Vogel, Henry Ford II Professor of the Social Sciences, Emeritus
  • John Womack, Jr., Robert Woods Bliss Professor of Latin-American History and Economics, Emeritus

Current Administration

  • Kathleen Hoover, Program Coordinator
  • Bruce V. Jackan, Executive Officer

Former Administration

  • Chester D. Haskell, Executive Secretary, 1986–2000
  • James Clem, Executive Officer, 2001–2006
  • Laurence Winnie, Executive Officer, 2007–2014