What fields of study are eligible for the Academy Scholars Program?

The founders considered area studies expertise in non-Western parts of the world to be a valuable addition to the social science disciplines. Accordingly The Harvard Academy looks for outstanding applicants in PhD or equivalent programs or with PhD or equivalent degrees in disciplines normally represented as in the social sciences in universities, where most of the Academy Scholars find employment.

We define non-Western as any country other than the US, Canada, and Western Europe (as defined by the former Iron Curtain). Also, research that covers non-Western interaction with the Western region is transnational and thus eligible.

Accepted Fields of Study

  • Africa Studies
  • Anthropology
  • Asia Studies
  • Central Asia Studies
  • East Asian Languages and Civilizations
  • Economics
  • Eastern Europe Studies
  • Ethnic Studies
  • Geography
  • Government
  • History
  • History of Science—non-Western
  • Inner Asian and Altaic Studies
  • International Relations
  • Latin American and Iberian Studies
  • Law
  • Middle East Studies
  • Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations
  • Political Economy and Government
  • Political Science
  • Psychology
  • Public Policy
  • Russia Studies
  • Slavic Languages and Civilization
  • Social Policy
  • Social Studies
  • Sociology
  • South Asia Studies
  • Southeast Asia Studies
  • Ukraine Studies
  • Women, Gender, & Sexuality—non-Western

Fields of Study that Are Not Accepted

Please note that this list is not exhaustive.

  • Anything Western (US, Canada, and Western Europe, as defined by the former Iron Curtain)
  • Archeology
  • Architecture
  • Art History
  • Business
  • Classics
  • Global Health
  • Linguistics—non-English
  • Literature
  • Management
  • Medieval Studies—non-Western
  • Musicology
  • Philosophy
  • Public Administration
  • Religion
  • Sanskrit and Indian Studies
  • Social Work
  • Urban Studies